La Maison des absents

By Tana French

« L’un des 10 meilleurs livres de l’année. […] Avec une intelligence ambitious, Tana French dépeint une tragédie familiale, les features les moins reluisants du travail de flic et les chagrins d’une génération. »
The Washington Post


Broken Harbour, un lotissement fantôme à quelques encablures de Dublin : pas tout à fait terminé, pas tout à fait habité, une espèce de chantier laissé à l’abandon. Deux enfants et leur père sont morts. los angeles mère est en soins intensifs.

Mike Kennedy se voit attribuer l’affaire parce qu’il est l’as de l. a. brigade criminelle. Et de top abord, ça ne fait pas un pli : Patrick Spain, victime de los angeles crise, a poignardé ses enfants, tenté de supprimer sa femme Jenny puis retourné l’arme contre lui. Mais trop d’incohérences s’accumulent, et les preuves pointent dans deux instructions. Le plus étrange, c’est que cette enquête, censée se résoudre d’elle-même, rouvre chez sa sœur et lui une plaie ancienne : le drame survenu dans leur famille, un été, vingt ans plus tôt, au bord des falaises de damaged Harbour, « quand quelques jours au bord de l. a. mer d’Irlande dans une caravane de situation suffisaient à faire de nous des princes »…

Dans ce roman emblématique de l’Irlande des années de crise, salué de toutes components comme son meilleur livre à ce jour, Tana French déploie tout son artwork du suspense pour raconter le naufrage d’une famille et d’un will pay tout entier.
Show description

Where Were You?: America Remembers The JFK Assassination

By Gus Russo

November 22, 1963. A policeman’s spouse was once fetching their in poor health baby from tuition. a tender shoe shop supervisor had no thought what lay in look forward to him that day. A destiny president used to be tending to his farm. A destiny vice chairman used to be status at the steps of his university library. A Georgetown scholar used to be anticipating taking part in the piano for the president while he back to Washington, DC, that night. A destiny superstar used to be attending his second-grade paintings class.
     Then the inside track rang out throughout airwaves, via cellphone traces, and by way of be aware of mouth, plunging the rustic into surprise and sorrow. It’s not easy to visualize how the final fifty years might have spread out if President John F. Kennedy had lived. could Vietnam have dragged on till 1974? may Nixon have come into energy? It’s tricky to say—but, combining evocative archival pictures with the original, first-person tales of these who lived via it, the place have been You? says what the background books can’t and gives a clean examine what was once, what's, and what could have been considering the fact that that fateful day.
    In the two-hour NBC documentary occasion that this quantity accompanies, exact correspondent Tom Brokaw interviewed humans just about the tragedy in addition to former heads of country, politicians, authors, newshounds, performers, musicians, and extra. He requested them 5 basic questions, beginning with: the place have been you? jointly, their phrases paint a wealthy and relocating photograph of a hopeful state torn asunder via grief. it's going to remind those that lived it of a pivotal second in American background, and it bears witness for all who follow.

Show description

I Remember You: A Ghost Story

I keep in mind You received the Icelandic Crime Fiction Award and in addition was once nominated for The Glass Key Award.

In this terrifying story, 3 buddies got to work renovating a rundown apartment in a distant, absolutely remoted position. yet they quickly discover they don't seem to be as by myself as they notion. anything wishes them to depart. in the meantime, in a close-by city, a tender health practitioner investigating the suicide of an aged girl discovers that she used to be enthusiastic about his vanished son. while the 2 tales collide, the surprising fact turns into horribly clear.

In the vein of Stephen King and John Ajvide Lindqvist in part in response to a real tale, is the scariest novel but from Yrsa Sigurdardóttir, who has captivated the eye of readers world wide together with her secret sequence that includes legal professional Thora Gudmundsdottir. Now, Yrsa will stun readers once more with this out-of-this-world ghost tale that may depart you shivering.

Show description

Shadow Zone (Hannah Bryson, Book 2)

By Iris Johansen, Roy Johansen

The number one New York instances bestselling writer groups up once more along with her Edgar award-winning son to convey us a brand new heart-pounding mystery concerning the quest for a mysterious Atlantean urban
[b][/b]
[b]While mapping the traditional underwater urban of Marinth within the Atlantic Ocean, submersible clothier Hannah Bryson makes a stunning discovery: she could have ultimately exposed the reality in regards to the once-glorious city's mysterious dying. some time past it was once a thriving city bursting with tradition and life—Marinth's surprising disappearance has plagued scientists for years. yet now, along with her unforeseen new findings, Hannah realizes that the traditional city's explosive mystery may have dire effects for the modern day global.

But Hannah isn't the single person who realizes it. whilst her key artifact is hijacked en path to a examine lab, she is thrust into an event during which she needs to fit wits opposed to a terrifying enemy who will kill a person who stands in his method. And while Hannah turns into his objective, she is aware that her most sensible desire for survival lies with Kirov, a mysterious and lethal guy from her prior. jointly they'll race to resolve Marinth's final nice mystery for you to hinder a disaster of worldwide proportions. earlier than the deadly video game is over, even though, Hannah will observe that not anyone is above suspicion.
Show description

Hades (An Archer and Bennett Thriller)

“Compelling . . . A chilling read.” —Sydney Morning Herald

Twenty years in the past, childrens have been abducted and left for dead.
Raised via a grasp felony, they grew as much as turn into police officers. Very strange law enforcement officials . . .

Homicide detective Frank Bennett has an interesting new accomplice. darkish, appealing, coldly effective, Eden Archer is likely one of the such a lot enigmatic colleagues Frank has ever labored with—that contains her brother Eric, who’s additionally at the Sydney Metro police strength. them all are confirmed to the middle while a neighborhood guy discovers a graveyard of huge metal toolboxes mendacity on the backside of the harbor. each one field features a grisly trove of human physique parts.

For Frank, the madman’s clues are a tantalizing puzzle. For Eden and Eric, the case holds chilling hyperlinks to a scarred childhood—and a murderous mentor named Hades. however the real evil is going past the bloody handiwork of a serial killer…

Show description

Gun Street Girl (Nick Sharman)

By Mark Timlin

Third within the Nick Sharman crime sequence, from the Spillane of Brit Noir

It starts off whilst Nick Sharman's eye is stuck via a lady in a modern West finish shop. She is younger, attractive, classy—and she is shoplifting. In a second of gallantry, Sharman saves her from the indignity of being stuck. the following factor he is familiar with Elizabeth Pike is his shopper. One night a number of weeks earlier than, her father, multimillionaire Sir Robert Pike, took his previous carrier revolver and blew a gap in his head. Now the conflict is on for regulate of his vast media empire. And somebody is out to get his illegitimate daughter Catherine, a beautiful younger Australian with a checkered prior. So Sharman has girls to guard. yet from whom? As Sharman swaps the dirty streets of south London for the glamour and glitz of Mayfair, it quickly turns into obvious that what lurks underneath the skin is as slimy and sleazy as whatever he is encountered in Brixton, and two times as dangerous.

Show description

13 1/2

By Nevada Barr

With 13 ½, Nevada Barr, New York Times bestselling writer of the award-winning Anna Pigeon novels, has written a taut and terrifying mental thriller. It includes the reader from scary 1970’s homicide spree of a child-dubbed “Butcher Boy” by way of a surprised public- in Rochester, Minnesota, to Polly, the abused daughter of Mississippi “trailer trash,” to post-Katrina New Orleans.
 
In Jackson sq. within the French area, a tarot card reader advised Polly Deschamps she will be a success. Thirty years later, Polly is a revered professor of literature with reliable acquaintances and her own residence- a secure existence for her and her daughters.
 
Butcher Boy, published on his 17th birthday, shook the snow from his boots and headed south.
 
New Orleans, a Mecca for runaways then and now, deals sanctuary yet by no means forgiveness.
 
When Polly falls in love with Marshall Marchland, a recovery architect who's aiding to rebuild her followed urban, shadows of the earlier upward thrust out of the poisoned flooring of latest Orleans as thick and lethal because the poisonous waters of the flood.
Like background, a few crimes are doomed to copy themselves. Evil remains an analogous; in simple terms the sufferers’ names switch. As damaged pasts collide in an doubtful current, Polly is decided that her children’s names just isn't on that list.

Show description

Cold Calls

Three highschool students—Eric, Shelly, and Fatima—have something in universal: “I be aware of your secret.

Each one is blackmailed into bullying in particular certain schoolmates through a mysterious caller who whispers from their cellphones and holds rigorously guarded secrets and techniques over their heads. yet how may possibly an individual have acquired that photograph, learn those hidden pages, exposed this buried previous? Thrown jointly, the 3 children sign up for forces to discover the stranger who threatens them—before time runs out and their shattering secrets and techniques are published . . .

This suspenseful, pitch-perfect mystery-thriller increases well timed questions on privateness, bullying, and culpability.

Show description

Broken April

By Ismail Kadare

Destinies intersect in Broken April. the 1st is that of Gjor, a tender mountaineer who (much opposed to his will) has simply killed a guy as a way to avenge the loss of life of his older brother, and who expects to be killed himself according to the provisions of the Code that regulates lifestyles within the highlands. the second one is that of a tender couple on their honeymoon who've come to check the age-old customs of where, together with the blood feud.
While the tale is determined within the early 20th century, existence at the excessive plateaus of Albania takes lifestyles again to the darkish a long time. The bloody blouse of the most recent sufferer is hung up through the bereaved for all to see―until the avenger in flip kills his guy with a rifle shot. For the younger bride, the surprise of this endless cycle of compulsory homicide is devastating. The horror turns into personified while she catches a glimpse of Gjor as he wanders in regards to the nation-state, looking ahead to the truce of thirty days to finish, and existence with it. That short-term imaginative and prescient of the hapless assassin provokes in her a violent act of revulsion and contrition. Her lifestyles might be marked via it usually.
Show description